I Can’t Breathe

I can’t breathe.
There are so many things I want to say
To comfort those in pain
But nothing comes out right.

I can’t breathe.
I see the injustice every day
I read the stories, hear the news
But I am helpless to do anything

I can’t breathe.
I keep wondering why I was born white.
Maybe if I wasn’t, I’d understand better.
But I cannot choose the color of my skin.

I can’t breathe.
I know that being silent is just as bad
As being the person committing the act.
But I cannot speak when it is time to cry.

I can’t breathe.
I want to make people understand me.
I do not care what color someone’s skin is.
But no one cares to understand me.

I can’t breathe.
Politics squeeze every breath from my lungs
Forcing every word that tumbles from my mouth
To sound like I am a racially biased person.
The media wants you to think that I don’t care
That I do not understand your pain.
They’re right in that I cannot fathom it
But the fact that I am trying to understand shows I care.
I believe in my heart and my soul
God created each and every person.
He created them perfect in his eyes,
Therefore, who are we to judge who is better than whom?
We know nothing about each other and are unjust and unequal
God knows all and loves all unconditionally.

The time must be near
When God will breathe life back into his creation.
Because right now, amid policy and violence
Racism and injustice
Pain and suffering
We cannot breathe.

Leave a Reply

