It’s All Good.

Hey. Long time no write.

So in the last three weeks, I have had a cold, the flu, sprained my ribcage coughing my lungs out, and am now currently dealing with what seems to be an allergic reaction to an unknown allergen. Probably pollen, but not quite sure. To be fair, I did wear my contacts yesterday after having not worn them for a while, but they were a fresh set and I had no trouble taking them out last night, so I honestly don’t know if that was part of what is causing the allergic reaction in my eye. If you’re interested in that part, I’ll keep you posted on how things progress, but this post isn’t just about what’s happening to me. It’s about how I am choosing to respond.

Most people go through a time like this, with stress from work, school, life, whatever, and think to themselves, “Wow. This sucks. How will I get through this?” And honestly, I get it. To interrupt your routine with illness, injury, unforeseen costs of both money and time, hours lost at work, and to continue to try to run your life smoothly, is not easy. It is not easy to be a full time student with high personal expectations for yourself, along with a pretty demanding part-time job and a wedding to plan. But as I am discovering, it doesn’t have to be all that hard either.

Today I was texting my mom. I was experiencing symptoms of what seemed to be an allergic reaction that I was not familiar with, and to be honest, I was freaking out a little bit. She responded with her sage advice of antihistamines, a warm compressant and essential oils to diffuse, as well as letting me know she was praying for me. That’s when it hit me. All my life, I have been told that God has a plan for my life, that I would do great things for God. I also was told that Satan doesn’t want that to happen, that he will do anything in his power to stop people from doing God’s will. Basic Sunday school, right? Well, what I realized today, and hopefully I don’t sound too “religious” saying this, but God must be getting ready to use me for something, because these things that I have been dealing with have popped up out of nowhere. Of course, I do not say this lightly; there are a million precautions I could have taken to not get sick (ie not being near the person who passed it to me), and had I not gotten sick, I would not have coughed so hard I sprained my rib cage. I also could have chosen not to wear the contacts, but even then there is no guarantee that I would not somehow get something in my eye. The point is, God must have something good for me up ahead if Satan is doing his darnedest to keep me inside, out of class, away from work, and (quite literally) unable to see clearly what’s going on.

From this standpoint, I am choosing to do my best to take care of myself physically, but I also am choosing to have faith that something good is coming.  God has always had His hand on my life, and for the first time in a while I can almost feel it. And with that feeling, it’s all good.

Well, thanks for reading. Hopefully I won’t go so long without writing again!

Rachel

One thought on “It’s All Good.

  1. Life has its challenges and it seems like they come when we’re least expecting or prepared for them! How we handle those challenges will determine how well we make it on life’s journey. I love your positive attitude and looking ahead to God’s good plan for you. Well done! Love you, I’m praying for you, too. ❤
    Jeremiah 29:11New King James Version (NKJV) "For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, says the Lord, thoughts of peace and not of evil, to give you a future and a hope."

    Like

Leave a Reply

